On Thursday, August 6th at noon, UGA students, staff, and faculty, supported by members of the United Campus Workers of Georgia, staged a physically distant, masked “die-in” to p

The UGA Chapter of UCWGA has written an open letter to President Morehead urging stronger protections including requiring face masks while indoors and allowing faculty, staff, and graduate st

I understand that UGA and the University System of Georgia, along with the rest of the world, are facing difficult decisions balancing public health with the need to carry on working.

UGA recently held a webinar to address questions the campus community had about plans to reopen. The moderator selected a handful of these questions to present to the panelists. UCWGA put out a call, asking people to forward a copy of the questions they submitted for the webinar. Below is a list of the questions people sent us that were not addressed in the webinar. For a list of questions that were addressed, see the bottom of this document.

The UGA Chapter of the United Campus Workers (UCWGA) of UGA stands in solidarity with the #WaiveTheFeeUGA petition. UGA students should not have to pay a fee to cancel their housing contract given the exceptional circumstances posed by COVID.

On USG campuses across the state, campus workers and students have been confounded by Universities’ insistence on carrying out plans to reopen in spite of surging COVID-19 cases and conflicting guidance from public health experts at the CDC. Yesterday, a new piece of information provided evidence that the University System of Georgia (USG) is being pressured to reopen by the private contractor who has multi-decade contracts to run many USG dorms.

Participants: President Jere Morehead, Provost Jack Hu, Vice President for Instruction Rahul Shrivastav, Vice President for Student Affairs Victor Wilson, University Health Center Executive Director Garth Russo, AU/UGA Medical Partnership Campus Dean Shelley Nuss, and College of Veterinary Medicine Dean Lisa Nolan. Libby Morris, Director of the Institute of Higher Education, moderator.